Top 5 WeeklyUMA News

16th annual Urban Music Awards nominations announced


Urban Music Awards 2018 – Nominations List
London 22/10/18, The nominations for the 16th annual Urban Music Awards were announced at a press conference held at Pane Cunzato restaurant in London with a #UMATrip tour across London on a Double Decker bus converted to a mobile nightclub courtesy of La Fée®, ENVY® ahead of the awards ceremony which takes place on the 29th of November.

The Urban Music Awards (also known as UMA) has gone from strength to strength as the driving force for urban music worldwide within the past 16 years. The UMA’s where instrumental in the commercial success of the genre, artists, and industry to make it the number 1 selling genre in the world. The awards hold annual versions in the UK, USA, Asia and Africa annually and it’s flagship show in the UK also celebrates parent company Invincible Global’s 20th anniversary.

Best Newcomer nominees this year include; EO , Big Zuu, Mostack, Ramz, Raye
Asco , ZieZie, IAMDDB, Octavian, Blay Vision, Jeshi and Basette go head to head whilst the Best International Artist category sees 6ix9nine , Chris Brown, Drake , Tory Lanez, Nicki Minaj ,Teyana Taylor , Childish Gambino, French Montana , Cardi B, Kehlani, Post Malone, Kanye West and A$AP Rocky battle to take home the UMA trophy.

The platinum-selling recording artist Dizzee Rascal who is nominated for Best Music Video for ‘Bop N Keep It Dippin’ said: “The Urban Music Awards recognised and supported my talent right from the beginning before anyone else did and I wouldn’t be where I am today without its continued support”.

Since 2003, the UMA’s historically was the first known music awards show to open up the nominations/voting process for music fans to nominate and vote for their favourites in all our categories. This year (2018), the academy received over 2.9 million music fans nominating online. The artists/producers/organisations with the highest nominations are automatically shortlisted and the public is given the chance to vote for the winners in all respective categories for the 15th annual Urban Music Awards sponsored by , Events Monkey and Dechavel Watches.

Simon Pullman, Marketing Director for Events Monkey commented “We are excited to sign a three-year sponsorship deal with the Urban Music Awards. Events Monkey is a platform for event promoters, producers and organisers to create, list and sell electronic tickets instantly from so to partner with a credible event such as the Urban Music Awards is a perfect fit to our marketing strategy moving forward”

US recording HipHop artist Jay -Z added “The Urban Music Awards was the first awards ceremony that said hey you the music fans you tell us what is popular not some academy of judges”. 15 years later other awards ceremonies have followed suit giving the people the voice to both nominate and vote something that was never in existence before the Urban Music Awards.

For 16 years, the Urban Music Awards has not just changed the face of music worldwide as we know it. But, has changed lives, made unknown genres started in pirate stations, council estates, to become worldwide recognisable genres. From Garage to Dubstep, Sublow, to Drum & Bass, Grime, to Bassline, Reggae, to Afrobeat, the UMA’s has been through all the changes and more. Important is the future of young talent who need a platform to nurture their talent, learn the craft, study the inside outs of the business, learn about finance and most importantly learn about how to build a sustainable career in music.

Full List of the nominees for this year’s Urban Music Awards are:

Best Newcomer 2018
Big Zuu
Blay Vision
Amelia Monet

Best International Artist 2018
Chris Brown
Tory Lanez
Nicki Minaj
Teyana Taylor
Childish Gambino
French Montana
Cardi B
Post Malone
Kanye West
A$AP Rocky

Best Group
Krept & Konan
Hypnotic Brass Ensemble
The Kingdom Choir
Lotto Boyz
Belly Squad
House of Pharaohs

African Artist of the Year
Nasty C (South Africa)
Blanche Baily – Cameroon – BonBon
Fally Ipupa – DRC – Mannequin
Betty G – Ethiopia – Mengedegna
Rash – Kenya – Nitachange
Yamiu Mola – Ethiopia – Wegegta
Lyna Mahyem – Algeria – Bye Bye
Abu – Egypt – 3 Daqat
Becca – Ghana – Number One
Davido – Nigeria – Fia

Artist of the Year (USA)
French Montana
Cardi B
Post Malone
Kanye West
A$AP Rocky
Chris Brown
Tory Lanez

Best Music Video
Big Zuu ft. JME ‘Fall Off’
AJ Tracey – ‘LO(V/S)ER’
Dave ft. Fredo ‘Funky Friday’
Mostack ‘What i wanna’
Ramz – ‘Barking’
EO – ‘German’
Not3s ft Mabel – ‘My Lover’
ILLBlu ft. Krept & Konan, Loskie & ZieZie – ‘Chop My Money’
Izzie Gibbs – ‘People’
Dappy ‘All We Know’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Bop N Keep It Dippin’
Donae’o ft. Belly – ‘Chalice’

Best Producer
Mike & Keys
Tre Jean-Marie
Steel Banglez
MK The Plug
The Fanatix
Da Beatfreakz

Best Hip Hop Act
Fredo (UK)
Pusha T (USA)
Dave (UK)
Yemi (Sweden)
Mostack (UK)
Nines (UK)
Stefflon Don (UK)
Jay Kae (UK)
Ms. Banks (UK)
French Montana (USA)

Artist of the Year (UK)
AJ Tracey
Stefflon Don
Krept & Konan
Hardy Caprio
Yxng Bane

Best Album
Jorja Smith – Lost and Found
A2 – Blue
Big Narstie – BDL Bipolar
Nines – Crop Circle
Wiley – Godfather ||
Sneakbo – Brixton
MNEK – Language
Angel – Woman

Best Radio Show
Rebecca Judd (Westside)
Yasmin Evans (BBC 1Xtra)
Julie Adenuga (Beats 1)
Tim Westwood (Capital Xtra)
A. Dot (BBC 1 Xtra)
Kenny Allstar (BBC 1 Xtra)
Jay London (Capital Xtra)
Snoochie Shy (BBC 1Xtra)
Tinea (Kiss)
Jamz Supernova (BBC 1Xtra)
Tiffany Calver (Kiss Fresh)
Pandora (Kiss)

Best DJ
Charlie Sloth
Jamz Supernova
Shy FX
Shortee Blitz
Melody Kane
Rude Kid

Best Radio Station
Capital Xtra
BBC 1Xtra
Westside Radio
Soho Radio
Beat London
Flex FM

Best Single
Cadet & Deno Driz ‘Advice’
Teddy Bear ft. King London ‘The Weekend’
Little Simz ‘Offence’
Paigey Cakey ft. Geko ‘Loving You’
Nao ‘Make it Out Alive’
Slow Thai ‘Rainbow’
Jones ‘Something Bout our Love’
Ramz ‘Barking’
Dappy ‘All We Know’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Bop N Keep It Dippin’
Donae’o ft. Belly – ‘Chalice’

Artist of the Year (France)
Kofs ft. Sadek
Black M

Artist of the Year (Asia)
Rich Ryan
Jasmine Sandlas
Garry Sandhu
G Sidhu
Amy Virk
Amrit Maan
Imran Khan

Artist of the Year (South America)
Vico C ( Puerto Rico)
Los Aldeanos (Cuba)
Boca Floja (Mexico)
Manuel Turizo (Colombia)
Bad Bunny (Puerto Rico)
Yandel ( Puerto Rico)
J. Balvin (Colombia)
Maluma (Colombia)
Ozuna (Puerto Rico)
Natti Natasha (Columbia)

Artist of the Year (Caribbean)
Damian Marley
Timeka Marshall
Bunji Garlin

Best Entertainer
Mo (The Comedian)
Chicken Connoisseur
Kurupt FM
Michael Dapaah
Stevo the Madman
Yung Filly
Mikes Comedy
David Whitely aka Sideman

Best Gospel Act
Fiona Yorke
Zoe Grace
Triple O
Nyasha T & United Praisers
Sarah Teibo
Tab Worship
Noel Robinson
Becca Folkes

Best Jazz Act
Jamie Isaac
Roy Ayers
Camilla George
Georgia Mancio
Ezra Collective
Binker & Moses
Shabaka Hutchings

Best R&B Act
Aaron Taylor
Puma Blue

Best Female Act
Trillary Banks
Stefflon don
Ms. Banks

Best Record Label
Island Records
Disturbing London
Insanity Records
Decca Records
Big Dada
Merky Records

Voting for the UMA’s starts online at until the 20th of November 2018 . Winners will be announced at the annual ceremony on the 29th of November 2018 in London
Buy your tickets now here;


Leave a Response

Are you an Artist? Register your domain now and Web Hosting at HostBrando